The Secretariat is responsible for the daily operations of IASC. Rannís, the Icelandic Centre for Research, began hosting the IASC Secretariat from January 2017 and has committed to do so for 5 years.

The Secretariat is based in Akureyri, Iceland. Previously, Germany, Norway, and Sweden served as host countries.


Executive Secretary

Gerlis Fugmann

Gerlis Fugmann

Executive Officer

Kolbrún Reynisdóttir
Hjalti Omar

Communications Manager

Federica Scarpa

federica scarpa

Secretary, Atmosphere Working Group

Gillian Young, University of Leeds, United Kingdom

Sara Morris

Secretary, Cryosphere Working Group

Michael Wood, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory

Michael Wood

Secretary, Marine Working Group

Laura Ghigliotti, CNR Italy

Laura Ghigliotti

Secretary, Social & Human Working Group

Anna Varfolomeeva, University of Helsinki

Gunnar Gunnarsson

Secretary, Terrestrial Working Group

Clay Prater, Oklahoma State University

Rebecca H

Secretary, ISIRA

Yulia Zaika, Kola Science Center of the Russian Academy of Sciences


Fellowship Coordinator

Alevtina Evgrafova, University of Bern, Switzerland

Alevtina Evgrafova